I’m not…

28 Oct

… only the smartest girl in my class. In fact I’m not at all.

I just got labeled ‘the smartest girl’ when I was eleven. Since then, that’s the label I wear. People don’t question it anymore, it’s who they think I am.

But as I told you, I am not!

It’s true that studying is my thing. I’m good at it. I know that this sounds like bragging, but it’s not really something I’m proud of. In the real world you get nowhere by being a good student. There are other quality’s that you need to make it out there. And, for a big part, I got the talent when I was born, I didn’t have to do anything to earn it. Plus: it’s not because you get good grades that you’re supersmart, it only means that you’re good at filling out exams.

But people need clarity, they like boxes to organise their minds. So they invented the box ‘smart people’ and put me in it. To make life even easier, they tend to link people in this box to the same set of character traits. We, ‘smart people’, are boring, sometimes arrogant, we use difficult words to scare normal people away and we don’t know how to make fun. We read to many books and are easily recognised by our big glasses.

I think you’re starting to get where I’m going. Maybe I am smart. But I’m so much more. And it’s time people would notice. That’s why I started this blog. I want to show to the world, and even more to myself, that I can be more. I am more. You’ll see!

Leave a Reply

