Proud

19 Nov

I’ve been a good friend this week. I checked in on my closest friends, asked if they were fine (most of them were working as hard as I am and stressed out too). I invited them to evenings out but they were too busy and couldn’t come. I even told them I miss them, which for me is not something I say easily. I don’t have the feeling they got the point though, since so far, none of them have asked me if I’m fine too. Which is fine, they have a hard life, I get it.

And: I did what I wanted to do this week: I slept more, drank less coffee, was a good friend, worked hard.
So why don’t I feel better about myself? I should be proud!
So for next week: try to be proud. Stop asking so much from myself. (Like I don’t ask too much from my friends.)

2 Responses to “Proud”

  1. Wout November 20, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Your friends are lucky with such a friend as you. Not many people speak about how they really feel and asking others how they feel. Ok, conversations always start with the standard question and answer, but in reality it isn’t. I always wanted a friend for shearing true feelings without secrets, but I gave up hope finding such a person. You should be proud of yourself, seems like you’re a wonderful person!

    • restmymind November 20, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

      Thank you!
      and interesting you should say that, about the standard question ‘how are you’… you’re just expected to say ‘fine’, without thinking… but what if you’re not?
      it’s like you should be fine and smiling all the time… but who can do that?

      I think everybody has secrets, things they can’t say to anybody else because it’s too personal or too sad or dark or embarassing… but you shouldn’t give up hope of finding someone to talk to! it’s not easy, but you’ll find that if you open up to the right person, you might be surprised at how much you can share with other people
      we’re all looking for the same simple things in life (love and happiness, to name the difficult ones), we all have hard times, and nobody should have to face those alone…

Leave a Reply

