Memories

13 Dec

Memories are powerfull things.

Sometimes bad moments can hang around in your head forever, and you don’t seem able to get rid of them. Why is it that embarassing moments replay again and again in your head, when other people don’t even remember them?
But time heals all wounds and eventually, bad memories seem so far away that they don’t hurt anymore.

Good memories disappear too soon. When you had a wonderfull experience, some details don’t seem to stick, and even after a few days, the image in your head starts to fade away.

However, memories are powerfull things.

I have some in my head that help me to go on.
If I could do that much hiking, then I can do this.
If I could survive that much stress, then I can do this.
If I could be so happy in every part of my body, I will be that happy again some day.
If someone in a little village in Africa can love me, someone else will, someday, too.

The goal in this is obvious. Find a way to carry those memories that give you strength, with you, at all times. So that, even when you’re alone, you can say to yourself: I could, I can, I will. Relive them, try to find that happiness again, that joy of life.

3 Responses to “Memories”

  1. MatthV December 24, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    This time of the year is difficult for me, your post reminds me that I need to focus on happy memories and have to believe in a better future with plenty of future happy memories in it :)! But that’s not always as simple as it sounds. It can be quite hard to push bad memories away and replace them with good ones.. Still, good advice! You are wise beyond your years 🙂

    Btw, really cool that you went to Africa! 😀

    Oh, and I wish you a Merry Christmas!

    • restmymind December 25, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

      It’s so good to hear that you find something in my posts that makes you think…
      about your previous reaction: I totally agree. Living is so much deeper than surviving. But you will get there in the end!
      Fear does hold a person back, that’s so true. It’s something that I recently discovered about myself, the fact that my fear not to be good enough held me back. But now I try to focus on what I’m good at. Even if other people don’t seem to notice…
      And dreams… I need them, I’ve always had them. But for a while now, I’m out of a really big dream that keeps me going. I’ll find one again, I think.
      The site about mindfulness looks interesting! I’ve been thinking about doing some kind of meditation or something like that because I really think it could help me. I’ll check it out!

      Also:
      I feel that because I chose (and still choose) the hard way in life sometimes, I’ve gained wisdom that takes most people more time to gain. But I missed out on some basic experiences too, that for most people are normal but for me seem hard to get by.
      And the school of life isn’t an easy one. More importantly, you don’t always get the grades you deserve. Sometimes a lot of bad times seem to be you part, and not so many good times. But that makes you appreciate the good times so much more. The only thing you can do is hang in there… how hard it may be.
      I love the quote. It could be my motto. It’s what I tell myself when I have a difficult day.

      About africa… it changed me. I believe it changed me for the better. But it made me think even more. About everything. About the water that runs from the tap. About the food that I have on my plate. About the school that I can go to. About the house I live in. It made my life harder and better and deeper all at once.

      Merry merry white (and sparkling) Christmas for you too…

  2. MatthV December 27, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    I’m sure you’ll find a big dream again! You seem to think about it enough 🙂

    Meditation is very helpful for people who get easily stressed out. Be it mindfulness or any of the other gazillion mediation techniques that are out there.. It helps! If you want a quick start, Youtube is full of instructional videos. All the meditation you can eat 🙂 But I still recommend reading a book/articles about it. Or better yet, go to a workshop and meet some new people in the process 😀

    Hmm, yes, that’s true. Not everyone gets the grades he/she deserves. Sometimes the lazy students get an A while the hard working students have to go to summer school.. And in the end, they both graduate with the same diploma but not with the same knowledge 🙂 Guess who learned most..

    So true, bad times make you appreciate good times more. They also make you grow as a person 🙂 My mom always says ‘Everything happens for a reason’. And everyone knows mothers are an infinite source of wisdom 😉

    Which country did you visit in Africa?
    A year ago, I wanted to leave everything behind and flee to Australia for at least one year. But I lacked the courage to go through with it, alone in a different country, I was afraid to take the leap… Now I have plenty of courage but I lack the money :p But who knows, maybe this summer.. It’s definitely something I plan to do in the recent future!

Leave a Reply

